1927 Game Reports / Alberta     


No playoff for overall league supremacy between the respective first-place division finishers ensued. Both clubs proceeded directly into the provincial playdowns.  Eight of the nine clubs that finished the 1927 season, the lone exception being the Magrath club, registered for Alberta playoffs at the Intermediate level.

1927 Southern Alberta Intermediate Baseball Playoffs

FIRST  ROUND  (best-two-of-three series)
Lethbridge Miners vs Lethbridge Cubs

(July 25)  A three-run homer by first baseman Sloan in the bottom of the ninth inning allowed the Lethbridge Miners to escape with a 7 – 7 tie in their opening playoff match with the crosstown Lethbridge Cubs. Darkness prevented any overtime play. The Baby Bears had a 7 to 5 base-hit margin during the contest with fly chaser O. Keiver the only player in the game to collect a brace of raps. Hot corner sacker Cooke of the Coalmen joined his teammate Sloan in slugging a round-tripper.

D. Keiver and Lawson
Pisko, S. Seaman (4) and Yorko 

(July 27)  With both squads performing flawlessly afield, the Lethbridge Miners drew first blood in the provincial playoff series with the Lethbridge Cubs by edging the Bruins 1 to 0 in a fracas which was limited to seven innings. Third baseman Cooke of the Miners singled in outfielder J. Pisko with a third-inning single for the game’s lone run. Shortstop Sinclair of the winners, with a pair of doubles, was the only swatter in the skirmish to accumulate plural hit totals.

S. Seaman (W) and Yorko
Randle (L) and Lawson

(July 28)  The Lethbridge Miners advanced one step in their quest for Alberta intermediate baseball supremacy by eliminating their city cousins, the Lethbridge Cubs, 9 to 3 in the third joust of their playoff showdown. The Coal Heavers led all the way after building up a commanding 7 to 0 lead with three and a half innings in the books. Infielder Cooke and outer pasture fly chaser Steve Seaman of the victors both ripped the apple for a double and single.

Grant (L), Pisko (4) and Yorko
Randle (W), A. Green (5) and Lawson

Lethbridge Miners won series from Lethbridge Cubs, two games to none with one game tied.

Hillspring vs Macleod

(July 26)  Hillspring  8     Macleod  2

Burrows (L) and Long
D. Allred (W) and Brooks

(July 28)  Hillspring  8     Macleod  0

xxx (W) and xxx
xxx  (L) and xxx

Hillspring eliminated Macleod in two straight games.

Cardston vs Spring Coulee
Cardston defaulted – Spring Coulee advanced.

Raymond vs New Dayton
Both teams withdrew from provincial playoffs.

SECOND  ROUND  (best-two-of-three series)
Hillspring – bye to third round.
Spring Coulee vs Lethbridge Miners

(August 1)  The Lethbridge Miners copped the opener in the second-round of provincial playdowns by hammering the hosting Spring Coulee nine 11 to 3.

Geoghegan (W) and xxx
Turner (L), Gilchrist and xxx

(August 2)  Spring Coulee was ousted from further playoff action after absorbing a 7 to 5 defeat at the hands of the Lethbridge Miners. The invading Coulee Clan opened up a five-run lead in the opening frame but were unable to add to their total during the remainder of the contest while the Pitmen gnawed relentlessly away at the deficit, tying matters in the seventh canto and going ahead in the eighth round on burly backstop Yorko’s two-run dinger. Both squads rang up seven base swats as winning tosser Steve Seaman showed plenty of pop with his bat, clipping the orb for a double and two singles.

Gilchrist (L) and Rice
S. Seaman (W) and Yorko

Lethbridge Miners won series in two games straight.

THIRD  ROUND  (best-of-three series)
Hillspring vs Lethbridge Miners

(August 8)  Hosting Hillspring and the Lethbridge Miners clashed in a five-inning 0 – 0 draw to start things off in round three playoff action. The Miners had runners on base in every inning except the opening panel but were stymied by Hillspring chucker Doug Allred, time and time again, from scoring. The game was late getting started so darkness prevented further play.

Geoghegan and xxx
D. Allred and xxx

(August 10)  The Lethbridge Miners and Hillspring divided a playoff doubleheader at Adams Park, the visitors winning the afternoon contest 14 to 10 while the Miners took the twilight tilt 12 to 6. Hillspring knocked losing flinger Norman “Big Six” Geoghegan around for 15 safeties in the first tussle with catcher Willard Brooks leading the way with five base blows, including a home run and a double. Brothers Doug and Ken Allred shared the pitching duties for the winners, combining for 16 strikeouts between them. Reliever Ken also did well with the willow, spanking the sphere for a double and a brace of one-baggers. Catcher Yorko had a home run for the Lethbridge nine.

D. Allred (W), K. Allred (5) and Brooks
Geoghegan (L) and Yorko

The lusty hitting continued into the second affair with the Coal Heavers amassing 14 base raps to 13 for the invaders. Lethbridge put the game away with a nine-run production over the fourth, fifth and sixth stanzas. First baseman Morrison of the Pitmen had a solid game with the bludgeon, ripping a triple, double and two singles. Teammate “Lefty” Grant contributed a double and a pair of one-baggers while Doug Allred singled three times for Hillspring. 

D. Allred (L), K. Allred (5) and Brooks
S. Seaman (W) and Yorko

(August 24)  After numerous delays in completing the series, a final game was never played as the Lethbridge Miners were hit by sickness which prevented the team from travelling to Hillspring for the scheduled fourth game, resulting in a forfeiture.

Hillspring takes the series two games to one with one game tied.

A proposed final series between Hillspring and the northern Alberta champion, Innisfail, never materialized.


1927 Alberta Southern Baseball League final result

(August 12)  High River pitcher Heim gave up five scattered safeties and fanned nine opposing hitters in leading his team to a 9 to 0 whitewashing of East Calgary. The game was called after seven innings because of darkness. The win by High River over East Calgary and an earlier defeat of the Calgary Athletics by Claresholm anointed High River as winners of the Southern Alberta League for the third consecutive season.

Engel (L), Biles (7) and Henderson
Heim (W) and Frumerie